Well… lucky you didn’t all hold your breath!!!! Sorry, I have no excuses. I have finally come to the realisation (took a while I know) that I just have to make blogging part of my daily jobs rather than an “if I get a spare second” job, because when it comes to spare seconds you may have noticed that I don’t seem to get too many and if I do I’m not using them here!

SO… in front of you all I am announcing that I am turning over a new leaf  – I am starting my New Years Resolutions 50 days early and if you would all be so kind I am going to need your help to achieve this.  So a bit of a drum roll if you wouldn’t mind…. * announcing *…

There will be something new to see here at least once a week!

And if there is not this is where I need your help!  So if you drop by and there isn’t something new to see at the start of another week  (lets make the start of each posting week Friday) then leave me a message to tell me you stopped by but there wasn’t anything new to see. That will make me feel terrible and give me the kick in the backside I need to get back on track.  So as much as it is putting a fair bit of pressure on myself  I think this is what is required to get things moving on here…. so lets all move right along because I actually have something to show.

This here card is the first I made with the Great Friend stamp set from the spring mini (which I might add has only 19 days left so if there are any goodies you need just let me know) and it happens to be for my very lovely and extremely talented sister (in -law) Sarah who I have to thank for getting my love of stamping and scrapbooking back on track.

Great Friend

I used the colours from the ‘Walk in the Park’ DSP as my starting point . Never in a million years would I have thought of putting Kiwi Kiss, Basic Grey, Baja Breeze, So Saffron and Cameo Coral together but the DSP told me I could and so I did and I was quite happy with how it all came together. It is a fairly simple design, although there was a fair bit of fiddly cutting out, especially the little branches but as you get to know me better you will see that I am quite a fan of cutting out stamped images! Along with this card went a little gift which I packaged up in coordinating paper … a couple of cakes of soap that smelt equally as yummy as they looked.

soap gift

And while we are on the subject of Thank-you cards and gifts. This here below is another card and gift I made for Sarah earlier in the year, as you can see when it comes to Sarah I have a lot to be thankful for.

Boroque card and girt

This card was a case from one of my absolute favourite blogs Kirsty’s cards ‘n’ scrapping (you will need to go to March 2009 in archives and scroll down a bit to find the card I cased). Check out her work, she is super talented! I am constantly amazed by her work and what is even more amazing to me is that she does all of this with four kids!

I loved the colour combo – you can’t go wrong with Pretty in Pink and Chocolate Chip nor with Baroque Motifs, it is such a beautiful stamp set –  must get that one out again. I stamped the Linen background stamp onto white then stamped over it with the Baroque Motifs flourish. I then added the small flowers from that stamp set – as you can see I used rock n roll technique and for the first time too! I rock n rolled the main flower, cut it out and added a rhinestone. Put it all together with some ribbon, scallop edging and some faux stitching and Bob’s your uncle (or in my case my dad). I  then put together a little bag of goodies to go with the card using the same colour combination and stamp set.

Well there you have it… hope you enjoyed these creations and please help me to stick to my blogging plan –  that means I want to hear from you if I am falling behind, but it would also be really nice to hear from you when I achieve my goals.

Thanks for dropping by and let me know what you think…

janny-blog-signature

Sarah’s Great Friend Card

Stamps: Great Friend
Paper: Basic Grey, Baja Breeze, So Saffron, Cameo Coral, Walk in the Park DSP
Ink: Kiwi Kiss, Cameo Coral, Baja Breeze
Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, Eyelet Border Punch

Sarah’s Baroque Motifs Card

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Linen Background (retired)
Paper: Whisper White, Chocolate Chip, Pretty in Pink
Ink: Chocolate Chip, Pretty in Pink
Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, Chocolate Chip grosgrain ribbon, Rhinestone brad, white gel pen

