Every now and then the kindy mums get together whether it be for dinner or coffee. On one of these occasions I mentioned that I had just signed up as a SU demonstrator. Not expecting much of a response I proceeded to get very excited when one of the mums said that she had been to a few workshops and that she would host a workshop with me, and then another mum also said she would be interested in having a workshop too…  just like that!!!… I could hardly contain my excitement.

So to say thanks to Gayle, who hosted her workshop in October, I thought I’d best make a card – of course!

h

Cheep Talk was a must have when it showed up in the 2009-2010 IB&C, but in saying that I hadn’t done a lot with it. I knew I wanted to make a card using a stamp set that was new to the catalogue and once I narrowed them down … this was the pick.

Isn’t this little bird is just too cute?

So onto the making of this card… I inked up the leaves in Kiwi Kiss and went over the branch with my Chocolate Chip marker. The little bird has been inked in Ballet Blue – I don’t actually own the Rich Regals markers (yet) so I had to use my ink pad, but I wanted his beak and legs to be yellow so I just wiped the blue ink off them with a tissue or a cotton tip (truth be told it could have even been the top I was wearing at the time whatever was in easy reach :)) I then went over the legs and beak with my Summer Sun marker and  stamped the little bird on top of his  branch using my Stamp-a-ma-jig (that tool is a God send!).  I then stamped him again in Ballet Blue and cut him out and stuck him down with some dimensionals . I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig again to add the sentiment and then backed it onto to some Tangerine Tango, added some paper piercing, as well as Linen Thread and a button from the Button Latte pack.  I used the little flower from the same set and stamped using Versamark randomly on a piece of Kiwi Kiss, wrapped some Chocolate Chip double stitched grosgrain around it and popped that onto the Naturals Ivory card that had been waiting patiently. Last of all  – some Dimensionals on the back of the Tangerine Tango with all the bits ‘n’ pieces stuck to it… and done.

I really had no idea where I was going with this card to start with… all I had decided was that the bird was going to be blue and that I wanted to use some of the in-colours and I guess that is how it all came together. I actually used this design for one of my Regionals swaps using the Trendy Trees stamp set.

See…

Sorry about the crooked photo… I can assure you that every other aspect of the card was (mostly) straight 😉

BTW I’m sticking to my NYR… patting myself on the back here ;)… just got to keep it up… and I will ’cause there wont be much sitting down and stamping or blogging with a bruised butt lol!

Hope your week has started off well and thanks for dropping by.

janny-blog-signature

Gayle’s Thank-you card

  • Stamps: Cheep Talk
  • Paper: Naturals Ivory, Kiwi Kiss, Tangerine Tango, Whisper White
  • Inks: Ballet Blue, Kiwi Kiss, Versamark
  • Accessories: Chocolate Chip Marker, Summer Sun Marker, Linen Thread, Chocolate Chip Button,  Chocolate Chip double stitched grosgrain ribbon, mat pack, paper piercer, dimensionals, Stamp-a-ma-jig

Regionals Swap card

  • Stamps: Trendy Tress
  • Paper: Naturals Ivory, Kiwi Kiss, Tangerine Tango, Whisper White
  • Inks: Riding Hood Red, Pumpkin Pie, Kiwi Kiss, Chocolate Chip, Versamark
  • Accessories: Chocolate Chip double stitched grosgrain ribbon, mat pack, paper piercer, Stamp-a-ma-jig, word window punch, dimensionals


